City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

 

images

images

3 Stars

I do not know what it is about this series but as much as I try I cannot love it. I was told to read this book because I love J.R. Ward and Sherrilyn Kenyon. I have even heard and seen references to Harry Potter (Mind you I loved every single series by these authors). But this series does not do anything for me. I think it is the characters that I do not like..Maybe the story.

First off there is Clary — whom I find extremely annoying and I cannot stand when it appears that a female lead in a book is a Big Idiot. Seriously she makes us all look dumb and that bothers me A LOT.  (I mean sometimes there are books where it works) but when you are trying to tell a story from a fool’s point of view then the story turns foolish. This has nothing to do with the author just Clary and the fact that I found her extremely annoying. (Oh wait! I said that before).

Now the other characters I could not bring myself to get to know .. I just do not think this series has been for me.

Leave a Reply

